Mac’n’CHEESE Crack

For the entire 135 Weeks and 6 Days

951 Days (sounds that much more dramatic) of my marriage to Mason we have debated the greatness of mac’n’cheese.

or

good ol’ homemade mac’n’cheese?

I’ll give you one guess as to who chose which side. (OBVIOUSLY I went homemade—it’s what my momma always made at home in Korea. What other choice is there?)

I’ll give you one more guess as to who got their way. (Mason-some hills aren’t worth dying on.) J

Well, all that background to say, on January 7, 2011 I made an entirely from-scratch dinner including homemade mac’n’cheese. And how did Mason respond?

*nom-nom* “Oh, wow! This is awesome, babe!” *nom-nom*

<me> “Really?”

*nom-nom* “Yeah, way better than Velveeta.” *nom-nom*

<me> “Huh.”

*nom-nom* “Yeah, I know.” *nom-nom* leans over to Michael…”do you know what the secret ingredient in the cheese sauce is?”

<Michael> “What?”

“Crack. She puts crack in it.”

Hahaha…and he’s been missing out for how many days? I don’t think I’ll ever have to make boxed mac’n’cheese again. J

Here’s the recipe…

1 package uncooked Conchiglie pasta (the mini shells), or your preference

2 TBSP Butter

2 ½ TBSP Flour

2 cups Cheddar Cheese at room temperature (I used what I had on hand…2 piles cheese slices)

½ cup grated Parmesan Cheese

3 cups milk

  1. Cook your pasta according to package directions, drain.
  2. In a saucepan, melt butter over medium-low heat. Stir in flour to make a roux.
  3. Add milk to roux slowly, stirring constantly.
  4. Stir in cheeses, cooking over low heat until all cheese is melted and the sauce thickens.
  5. Mix cooked pasta into cheese sauce.
What do you think?

